Ding Yi Music Company

Ding Yi Chamber Classics: Says Hu


Ding Yi Music Company presents a new chamber series: Chamber Classics, a series exploring the intricacies and classics of Chinese Chamber music!

The first edition of the series, ‘Says Hu’ spotlights on the huqin section as we hear the beauty of erhu, gaohu, zhonghu together with the Western string instruments cello and double bass. Renowned huqin musician and Singapore Chinese Orchestra concertmaster Li Bao Shun will lead the ensemble as the artistic advisor of the concert and perform a Singapore premiere piece titled ‘Sword Sorrow’, composed by Zhang Zheng.

Ding Yi huqin musician Chen Ning and double bass musician Chee Jun Hong will each present a solo, ‘Reminiscences of the Silk Road’ and ‘Yangguan Refrains’. The concert will showcase different huqin combinations and techniques which offer a new perspective of the huqin section. Listen and indulge in the intimate conversations between the huqin section and the ensemble!

This concert is curated by Ding Yi’s former concertmaster Chin Yen Choong and led by current concertmaster Fred Chan Hong Wei.

Tickets & Prices

General Seating: $28


Applicable for Senior Citizens*, NSF**, and Students***.
*Applicable for individuals aged 60 years old and above with valid ID
**Applicable for NSmen with valid 11B pass
***Applicable for students with valid student pass